As I prepare for packing up and moving from college apartment to college dorm for the fall semester, I am struck by just how much stuff I have.

Where did I get it all? I certainly didn’t bring all of this with me when I came, did I? Thrift shops, generous friends, and Sioux Falls shopping trips, that must be the answer. Well, I must admit, this is quite a lot for one college kid to handle.

How much is too much when it comes to possessions? When does one stop being described as “prepared for anything” and start being described as “hoarder”? I would think that there is a very fine line between the two.

I’ve fluctuated a lot on this invisible line from having far too much and feeling I need it all (like when I’m home and don’t want to clean out my closet), to striving for the most minimalistic lifestyle possible (like when I’m packing for a short trip). My college living situation reflects this conflict perfectly. My room decorations are small, light, and few, but my closet is jam-packed with clothes, trinkets, books, etc. And don’t even get me started on my purse.

Perhaps I’m in a phase or inspired to change right now, but I feel like I have too much stuff. I need to purge my possessions. So that is how I have decided to spend my day. Purging my excess of things. Purging my social media. Purging my Youtube channel “Watch Later” list, even.

Wish me the best of luck.

