I suppose that Saturdays are meant for relaxation. Lots of people have Saturdays off of work, Saturday is “the weekend,” and usually – if you can’t make plans to hang out any other day – Saturday works for planning things with nearly anyone. But I have found that when I am left to myself with nothing to do and nothing to think about on a Saturday afternoon or evening, I tend to waste it. And not even the good kind of wasting time, either! I will sit on Youtube or Pinterest or Instagram all day with no real purpose. I will discover and explore the “independent drama” side of Netflix and be left questioning the universe and my existence in it for a few hours after. I will determine to take a nap and then not actually do it, or leave it until it’s too late to reasonably take a nap. Like 9:30pm. Like now.

I will give myself a headache “doing nothing” all day, when really I should be getting up and getting stuff done. I could practice guitar – heaven knows I need all the practice I can get. I could actually learn how to solve a Rubiks Cube. I could come up with witty Facebook statuses for next week. I could allow my lovely roommates to teach me how to cook so that I can stop buying canned soup (but if we’re being honest, canned soup is one of the greatest inventions ever. Period.) I could work out by long-boarding or running a mile through the Prairie to work off those canned soup calories. I could go across the hall and bother people for fun. At least, I think it’s fun!

Oooor I could write. I wish I could build up the motivation to write all the things! I just want to be able to sit down and write, write, write.

“Self-motivation is the healthiest and most productive kind of motivation.” So says a friend and coworker of mine who registered for and aced a psychology class elective of some kind last year. If I could bottle my self-motivation during the week and use it on Saturdays, I would. Yes, please. I could be getting so much more done today than laundry and movie-watching and room organizing.

I should be writing my memoirs! I should be learning Korean! I should be planning for the future!

One of my favorite quotes of all time is a Mark Twain wisdom: “Do at least one thing every day that you don’t want to do.” Something like that, at least. Essentially, it means that sometimes the right thing and the best thing to do for yourself may not be the most fun option. It may be the choice that requires you to get up and stop being lazy.

